Committee Members and Representatives

Committees are the backbone of the San Diego Psychiatric Society. The work of committees has a direct impact on the decisions made by the Officers and Council. To have the kind of association we need you, our members, to participate.

Our committees are listed below and we hope you will join.  If you would like to become a member, please contact us at or (858) 279-4586.

Child and Adolescent Committee

Co-Chair: Sabrina Renteria, M.D.

Co-Chair: Anthony Bui, M.D.

Keeps Council informed of all child and adolescent issues and makes recommendations to Council for appropriate action.  Is the liason between the San Diego Psychiatric Society and the San Diego branch of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Communications Committee

Co-Chair: Chaitanya Pabbati, M.D.
Co-Chair: DeeAnn Wong, M.D.

Publish the quarterly e-newsletter and manage the website.

Executive Committee

President: Anoop Karippot, M.D.
President-Elect: Manny Garcia, M.D.
Immediate Past President: Sanjai Rao, M.D.
Secretary: Jessica Thackaberry, M.D.
Treasurer: Jason Keri, M.D.
Executive Director: Sahar Khatami

Composed of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, two appointed Council members and the Executive Director (ex-officio).  It is responsible for acting on behalf of Council in urgent situations, reviewing and selecting items for the Council agenda and making recommendations as necessary.  Additional members may be temporarily added or invited when needed for consultation.

Membership Committee

Chair: Savita Bhakta, M.D.

Recruits, reviews and recommends to Council applicants for membership.  Develops methods to promote maximum participation and retention among members.  Reviews and recommends to Council changes in individual membership status changes.

Fellowship Committee

Chair: Steven Ornish, M.D.

Reviews and recommends to Council, the nominations for the American Psychiatric Association Distinguished Fellowship.

Leadership Committee

Chair: TBD

Members appointed by Council for a one-year term.  Chaired by the Immediate Past President.  Submits to Council the  nominees for the offices of the association.

Government Relations Representatives

Assembly  Representative:
Steve Koh, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H.
Local Legislative Representative: Steve Koh, M.D., M.B.A., M.P.H.
State Legislative Representative: Eric Rafla-Yuan, M.D.
Federal Legislative Representative: TBD

This includes the Assembly Representative, Assembly Deputy Representative and Local, State, and Federal Legislative Representatives. This group studies and reports back to the Society about pending and/or existing legislative matters, as well as governmental regulatory issues, rules and regulations and judicial decisions that are pertinent to mental health and to the practice of psychiatry in California.  They make recommendations to Council on positions to be taken on such matters.  In addition, they represent SDPS to the County of San Diego and the Senate and House of Representatives in Sacramento and Washington, D.C.

Correctional Systems Representative

Representative: TBD

Represents psychiatrists working within the jail and prison systems.  Is the liason between the two organizations.

County Mental Health Representative

Representative: Michael Takamura, M.D.

Represents psychiatrists working at the County of San Diego and is the liason between both organizations.

Early Career Representative

Representative:  Stephanie Martinez, M.D.

Represent psychiatrists who have graduated from residency or fellowship within the past five years.  Coordinate case consultation groups. 

Resident-Fellow Member Representative

Representative: Tarina Quraishi, MD

Represent and work on behalf of the Resident-Fellow members.  Coordinate social, networking and mentoring events with Resident-Fellows and recruit Resident-Fellows.

Uniformed Health Services Representative

Representatives: TBD

Represents the Navy psychiatrists and is the liason between SDPS and the military.